Apno Ko Apne Dum Pe Jeena Sikhao

Talking about my childhood, I have been the most notorious and crazy kid in my family. I would argue with my parents and never listen to their directions and was a completely bad child. I have done all sorts of things which have caused my parents trouble and embarrassment. I would not concentrate on my studies and would pass on just margin marks. My parents would always worry about me and my future. The situation was so worse that my mother once even cried and thought that I would never improve myself and would be unsuccessful in my life.

Then at one point of time, they decided to send me to hostel facilities but my uncle came to rescue me and guided me to change my wrong path and told me to change myself and lifestyle. It was his guidance that helped in clearing all wrong things from my brain and aligning me to focus and do things which can make my parents proud. It was his blessings and his motivational speech with magical words which helped me realized my mistakes of my life and changing my perception. He closed the door of my room and sat in front of me and gave me lecture and some mantras. He was the first person who told me about my mistakes rather than scolding me or beating me.

After that meeting, he decided to take care of me and take up my responsibility. He persuaded my parents to not send me to hostel and give me another chance in life. I took his briefing seriously and started to focus on my education. Then came one day when I got good marks in my senior secondary board exam and passed with merit list. I got admission in Sikkim Manipal College and went there to join engineering. But again I lost my focus as I joined the company of friends who were mysterious and trouble maker. I felt my life as very simple and tension free. I would arrange money from my parents and would spend on them. The end result was that my performance in studies degraded again. I did not even have an idea about myself as I was addicted to drinking alcohol and going to pubs.

This time again, my parents called my uncle and told them the whole matter. My uncle directly came to my hostel room and gave me a tight slap on my face and then took me to hostel garden. He told me to change my attitude and be the same student as I was in the school. He washed my brain completely and gave me mantra to be mature and take responsibility. I would say that his slap and words at that time was the most important moment of my life as it gave me again the same momentum and correct path to follow in life. He said that it is my life and there will be no other chance.

He gave me the lessons on value of money and how important is to be self reliant and all success in my life goes to him. I am thankful for his blessing and giving me right direction in life.

This post is written for the happy hour “Apno Ko Apne Dum Pe Jeena Sikhao” in association with hdfclife (http://www.hdfclife.com/)

Leave a comment